Read like Larry

We encourage our patrons to display their favorite books, authors, movies, or music.  Would you like to share your passion?  Please contact Ellen or Rosemarie at the Reference Desk in Dix Hills.
Here’s what your neighbor Larry told us:
“There’s no better way to pass the time than reading…. having a book with me has allowed me to commute on the LIRR for more than 20 years by allowing me to share the lives of a host of characters whose adventures have taken me all over the world……….  During my earliest commutes on the subway (pre-LIRR) my companions were Rex Stout‘s Nero Wolfe, Lawrence Block‘s Matt Scudder and Ed McBain‘s Steve Carella (possibly the inspiration for Hill Street Blues), all read in paperbacks while standing back and forth to work in Manhattan.  Upon moving to Long Island, the more comfortable LIRR was off set with a much longer ride and the inevitable twice a month delays. So I expanded my authors by watching what others were reading, checking the library for the occasional bookmark that told me if I liked Vince Flynn, I’d like Brad Thor too  (and they were right) and checking out my friend’s home libraries while visiting.
I read for enjoyment.  At lunch it helps break up a day that has me away from home more than 60 hours a week.  I’ve followed Perri O’Shaugnessey‘s Nina Reilly’s career as an attorney in Lake Tahoe, Nevada and Michael Connelly‘s Harry Bosch’s career as a detective in Los Angeles.  I’ve laughed out loud at the exploits of Janet Evanovich‘s bounty hunter Stephanie Plum in New Jersey and toured Minnesota through the eyes of John Sanford‘s Lucas Davenport.  And I’ve experienced the future through Robert J Sawyer’s fascinating science fiction novels including the inspiration for ABC’s Flash Forward and the world of Star Trek through many authors including my favorite, Peter David.
While reading brings enjoyment, so does sharing authors whose writing and characters have become so much a part of my life over the years.  I hope you’ll check out my bookshelf in January that will feature books from my favorite authors.
Larry”
Below are links to some of Larry’s favorites.
Writer Web Sites
One Response to Read like Larry

  1. [...] info: Read Like Larry What your neighbor Larry selected Originally uploaded by [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

